Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiant water temps

wrxz24
wrxz24 Member Posts: 301
Just curious on what the temperature of the water should be in my radiant heated 4inch slab?  Finished floor is a combo of tile, carpet and laminate flooring.  Thanks in advance

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    It depends.

I am not a professionial, but determing the correct temperature to put into a radiant slab is impossible given the information you gave (or did not give).

For example, I have a zone heated by copper tubing in a concrete slab that is almost certainly thicker than four inches. The heat loss at the 69F I prefer to heat that zone is such that if it is 6F or less outside, I put 120F water in. Design temperature is 14F, and at that temperature, I use 112F input.

A rule of thumb I have heard is never to put more than 120F in a radiant slab. I have put more in when I did not know what I was doing (left it where the former homeowner left it) and I estimate I put 140F in. The first symptom was that the asphalt tiles popped off the floor in the kitchen. Also terrible swings because that boiler had no outdoor reset, so it always ran at maximum temperature, or off.

If you do not have outdoor reset with a slab, I suggest you get it (if practical). Then calculate the heat loss and calculate the btu/hour you need to overcome it. From that you can calculate btu/hour/square foot. I do not know the maximum you should put into a slab, but if you need more, or more than 120F, I suggest you consider supplementary heating (e.g., radiant panels on the walls or ceiling). But before taking my advice, get your system reviewed by a profesional who knows radiant hydronic heating.
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    How are the zones divided up?