Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

oil to gas conversion

FelixCulpa
FelixCulpa Member Posts: 2
I'm a total newbie, but have been trying to learn as much as possible. Let me tell you my situation, then ask questions...

I live north of Boston in a 1947 brick house, about 1600 sq ft, 1.5 ba. My oil boiler is about 30 yrs old, with a tankless HW integrated into it. I have a pressure problem, which is likely caused by the tankless coil. I spent $2500 in oil last year, and this year it projects to be about $3500. I recently had an energy assessment done by Mass Save, and they will be doing insulation and sealing. Their guy says that it will improve my efficiency by 30%.

Looking at all of the incentives laid out by National Grid and Mass Save, such as discounted boilers, rebates, and a 7-yr, no-interest loan, plus the saving in fuel and much better efficiency, it seems like a no-brainer to me to switch. My calculations say that I should be able to provide heat and HW for less than $1000/yr. Add on to that the loan payoff of $70-90/mo., and I still come out ahead on a month-to-month basis.

I am thinking about a high-efficiency (90-97 AFUE) gas boiler with an indirect hw tank.

Here are my questions:

1. What size boiler do I need? I've had two estimates, and they seem to just pick one from a list, with no heat loss calculation done. Given the better insulation I will have...

2. What size HW tank do I need? I'd like to be able to run the dishwasher and take a shower. No hot tub or spa.

3. Has anyone had experience with the HEAT loan? It seems like a ton of steps, and the contractors I've dealt with have no inclination to deal with the paperwork.