Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Can a gas valve fail if submerged?

D-man
D-man Member Posts: 17
Can a gas valve fail if submerged under water?  Boiler was installed in 2009.

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    under water

I am not a pro, but it is my understanding that it does not matter if it fails or not. If any of the electrics or gas valve gets under water, it must be replaced before the accident happens.
  • Tim McElwain
    Tim McElwain Member Posts: 4,612
    The entire boiler, furnace

or any appliance that was under water must be replaced in its entirety. That surely includes the gas valve.
  • D-man
    more info

Thank you for your responses. More info: I am trying to determine the cause of a freeze up at a seasonal home.  At time of discovery in March the boiler was out and would not fire even though pilot light was on.  There was flooding and the valve may have been submerged.   If submerged, would the valve fail and the flow of gas cease. What is the life expectancey of gas valves, it was fairly new (installed in 2009).
  • Tim McElwain
    Answer yes it will fail

replace the entire boiler or furnace if it was under water. Any attempt to fool with the gas valve will perhaps blow up in your face!
  • icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Submergence:

Why do you think the gas valve went under water? If it did, it must be replaced. But you said that you have a standing pilot and it didn't go out. The gas valves are usually higher than the pilot so if the gas valve went under water, the pilot should have gone out. And you wouldn't be able to light it either.

What kind of gas in a vacation area do you have that allows a standing pilot in 2009?