Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

2 Pipe Steam System Hell

Options
I am currently a resident of an apartment building that uses a 2 pipe steam heating system. For the entire heating season, we have had very loud banging noises coming from all over the building. Our plumber has been coming by for the entire season replacing traps, valves, and even refurbishing our vacuum pump. The banging noises persist and our latest issue is that we have steam shooting out of the return pipe (I am in no way knowledgeable about this system). Is it is safe to say its time to call in an expert?

Comments

• I would say yes.....

There are a number of good steam people around this site.  Try out the Find A Contractor section.  If you are in the Chicago area just give me a call.
    The Steam Whisperer (Formerly Boilerpro)

Chicago's Steam Heating Expert

Noisy Radiators are a Cry for Help
  • BalkiSmith
    BalkiSmith Member Posts: 6
    Options
    Thanks

Thanks for your response, unfortunately for me I am not directly in control of the project and can only make recommendations, but I will try to influence those who make the decisions.

Another quick question: If condensate is forming in the supply pipes (I can actually hear it sloshing around in there when the heating cycle starts) isn't the only way to get rid of it by correctly pitching the pipes? It seems like they are spending a lot of time worrying about the vacuum pump and the system in general rather then just getting in the wall and pitching the pipes.
  • The first question to ask is....