Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Old cxe5 with honeywell 8148a questions

Options
gusthebus
gusthebus Member Posts: 2
Hi,

I'm not too experienced so help me out if I'm mistaken. My housemates and I were having problems with our crown cxe5. Mainly pilot and circulation. New circulator was first fix. Then the honeywell 8148 to replace whatever historic piece we had before. Then the fan burnt out. Well we have problems with the pilot again now.

Did research, got aquastat and boiler diagrams and variations.

<a href="http://www.crownboiler.com/manuals/content/All_Models/CXE%20Series%20">http://www.crownboiler.com/manuals/content/All_Models/CXE%20Series%20</a>(all%20models).pdf

<a href="http://www.pexuniverse.com/docs/pdf/Honeywell-Aquastat-Relays-L8148.pdf">http://www.pexuniverse.com/docs/pdf/Honeywell-Aquastat-Relays-L8148.pdf</a>

What the pro wired is not with crowns specs and is a combination of two wiring setups for the 8148e, not our model. We have l3 going to a transformer(I think, it says 60 v on it though) then our pressure switch and finally 24gnd on the boiler. The regular 24 has nothing.

It could be a work around I guess, but it still is the same setup as in the cxe manual so why? Also the circ is on the b's and fan on the circulators...

Now we have no ignition and it has that fried component scent. Just wondering if we should just give up on this thing or if all the more recent problems might have to do with the weird wiring? Thanks.

Comments

• Tim McElwain
    Tim McElwain Member Posts: 4,621
    Options
    Whoever the pro

was that wired this I think messed up. I am not quite sure what you have.

1. What model 8148 do you have?

2. Is this a standing pilot, thermocouple system?

3. Is it a spark ignition system?

4. Is it a powerpile self generating system?