Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New Boiler, Old Problems, Lots of Questions

This is my first time posting on this though I have referenced Dan Holohan’s

many times for the past three winters we have been in our house. The reason I

am posting is we thought that by replacing and updating the original boiler in

our 1920’s house with a new Burnham boiler and other work in May this year by a

reputable heating contractor, we would have a more smooth running steam heat

system. So far, that has not been the case. So my questions are whether the

problems the heating system is experiencing are “normal” or is there something

else going on?

Is loud noise and spitting from the air vents “normal”? Almost all three floors

of air vents have been replaced in the last 12 months though it seems that they

need to be replaced all the time. (They have all been pitched properly. Lets

say we have had a lot of work done and money spent on our heating system.) They

are mostly Hoffman variable vents and there are 2 Danfoss thermostatic radiator

valves (TRV). How much water beads spewing from the air vents is “normal”? I

get water beads on the wooden floor and the air vents themselves are caked with

white watery substance. We have 4 main vents. The noise is loud enough that it

wakes us up at night.

So for the last 36 hours the living room radiator with a TRV (maybe around 12

months old) started getting really hot really fast (so heat all the way across

in say 5 minutes) when the heating cycle goes on. This is despite my setting

the TRV to around a low setting of “1” since my thermostat is located in the

living room. I adjust this TRV when I want to lengthen or shorten a heating

cycle depending on the weather outside. So I heard a very audible gurgling