Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Interium Heat Source

Hi all,

For the past few months I have been doing a remodel on a house I purchased. It needed a lot of work and since the floors needed to be torn out I decided it would be a good time to install radiant. Since I am an Engineer I like do do it myself so i can see how it all works. I picked up Hydronic Radiant Heating and Modern Hydronic Heating and went to work. I set a up a spreadsheet and did a full heat load calculation (full load came to about 35k, SF Bay Area where it doesn't get below 35 deg). Anyway PEX is in and I am ready to start to connect up everything in the boiler room. I am pretty sure I am going to go with the Triangle Tube Prestige but my issue is funds are running low. Would it be ok to hook up a interium unit like a electric water heater for a couple of months while my piggy bank fills up again? I can't put off not getting the heat on since I need to start to mud/tape and paint. I just need a interium solution for a couple of months. Thanks and Happy Holidays.

Comments

• Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,853
    The trick....

Is going to be the ability to find a residential water heater with 10 KW of electric element. Most residential water heaters are around 5 KW. If you could re-wire it AND if you had adequate electrical power available, then you could fire both elements at the same time for a total of 10 KW, but you're still short about 2/3 of your goal. Will work OK so long as you are not experiencing real cold temps...

Why dontcha just stick in a cheapo gas fired unit. Then you can donate it to Habitat for Humanity when you are done and get the value in the form of a tax credit for donation to a non profit org. Cycle the pump with the thermostat in the house and your cooking with gas.

ME