Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiant heat control

I am an amateur trying to design a basic radiant floor heating system for one room in my house. I have a system 2000 boiler and currently have baseboards on one loop for my 1400 sq.ft. house. I installed this boiler used five years back and it has worked great. The house I took it out of had three zones, so it is still set up this way. I was planning to use one of these zones for the radiant heat. The room is approx 550 sq. ft. and square. I was planning to use two loops approx. 200 feet long under concrete. I know I will need a mixing valve and manifold, and want to keep it as simple as possible. The question I have is about the # of circulators. It is setup now for one taco circulator to run the three zones. Reading posts on this forum, I believe I will need another circulator to run the two loops. My question is what is the easiest way to add an additional circulator control. I do not want the loop circulator to run when the main circulator is running the baseboards only when the radiant heat is needed. Should I purchase a seperate controller or can I modify my current furnace control? When the furnace makes hot water it runs a seperate circulator with the main circulator so I know it may be possible.

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• Gordan
    Gordan Member Posts: 891
    Why don't you start by...

...posting a picture, diagram, or both of your current near boiler piping layout?

Is the room you're planning to heat with radiant, currently heated by any other means? Is your intention to use radiant as the only means of heating it?
  • Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,366
    That's About Half...

The amount of tubing that you'll need if the radiant is your sole source of heat for the room. Have you done an accurate load calc?