Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Adjusting the Flow

Kungur
Kungur Member Posts: 49
I started up my new radiant heat retro yesterday. I am using a coal fired stoker boiler. So far everything is running great and comfortable. But I have a question. I know I will want to messing around playiny with the flow meters and here is my question.

When the flow is decreased does the amount of heat decrease? Also and likewise if it is increase does the amount of heat increase? The resaon I ask what,to you guys may be a simple question, is I thought Iread somewhere that the heat increases with a decrease in in flow.

Hey, I am just a carpenter/woodworker. If it was made out of wood I would not be asking !!

Comments

• Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,853
    Heat and flow....

As with any hydronic question, the only correct answer is, "It Depends"!

Delta T has been tossed about here recently as it pertains to keeping a condensing boiler in the condensing mode all of the time. An admirable idea,but its effect on emitters is less than desirable heat output, for meager gain in thermal efficiency.

Flow is essentially mass. As you move more mass, you have more POTENTIAL heat delivery. The potential is based on EXTRACTION or EMITTER capacity, and the real time heat load which generates the DT.