Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Oversized Boiler?

68GMC
68GMC Member Posts: 36
Hi all,

I own a Burnham IN6 boiler, approximately 8 years old. Input 175000 btu, output 144000, Steam Sq. Ft. 450. I used <a href="http://www.colonialsupply.com/resources/radiator.htm">[url=http://www.colonialsupply.com/resources/radiator.htm]http://www.colonialsupply.com/resources/radiator.htm</a> to look up rad sizing, and calculated my rads to be 244.16 sq. ft. Multiply 244.16 by 240 =58598.40 Multiplied by 1.33 for piping pickup gets you 77940 btu. I am a novice at steam heat and piping, and do not know how accurate the above website is for sizing.

I would like to purchase a couple of Dans books in the next couple weeks, just to double check my arithmetic, and perhaps the above website is fairly generic, Dans EDR book might be more accurate. The rads say Taylor-Forbes on one column, Sovereign on the other column. 3 rads measure 20" tall by 7" wide, 2 columns. 5 rads measure 26" tall by 7" wide, 2 columns.

Is this fairly normal for heating guys to find for boiler sizing? Is my arithmetic close enough confidently say that my boiler is twice the size I need? What are the biggest repercussions of running a drastically oversized boiler?

Thanks in advance,

David 

Comments

• Oversized Boiler

Here's another sizing chart if you want to compare the two.   As for Dan's steam books I'd suggest "We Got Steam Heat" and "The Lost Art of Steam Heating".  With an oversized boiler you're burning more fuel than you need and you should also get rapid cycling as with the extra volume of steam the pressure would build very quickly. It migh be possible to down fire the burner a bit.

- Rod
  • 68GMC
    Burner Downsizing