Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

connecting dry returns above water line

STEAM DOCTOR
STEAM DOCTOR Member Posts: 1,951
thanks for the great site. i view this site on a regular basis and the info that i have learned is immeasurable. I'm a plumber who has recently entered into the steam buiseness. on a number of jobs i have noticed that the dry returns are connected above the water line. I'm assuming that this is inadvisable because in essence this creates a continuous steam loop which would result in steam entering both sides of the loop and would equalize the steam pressure resulting in the slow movement of steam(sorry for the run on sentence). please correct me if I'm wrong and please enlighten me(and everyone else) with any relevant info on this topic. THANKS 

PS i have lost art(worth its weight in gold) and i dont recall this topic being discussed. 

Comments

• Nick_C
    Nick_C Member Posts: 19
    Water Hammer

The biggest issue this causes is potential water hammer as the steam runs up the condensate line.  I haven't seen it slow down venting, though.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,159
    Not sure I quite follow

Dry returns connected above the water line -- to what?  If they are direct connected to a steam main above the water line, steam will bring the dry return up to the same pressure as the main, and it will be very hard (to put it mildly) for steam to get to the radiators -- unless they are vented.  On the other hand, if they are connected to each other, no problem of course.  And if they are connected to the steam main through a trap, there isn't any problem either (in fact, a lot of vapour systems were designed to be this way).

So... can you clarify to what they are connected, and how?
    Br. Jamie, osb