Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Newbie here with some questions

Kungur
Kungur Member Posts: 49
Just came across this site! Looks like what I am in need of.

I have been kicking around the idea of switching to radiant floor heat. This would be a staple up situation for the 1st. floor.

My first question would be what would be a good book to educate myself more fully? I would be using a solid fuel boiler with the system I end up with.

Also I noticed a few posts that recommended staying away from internet "stores" that handle supplies. Any specific reason?

Thanks

Comments

• CMadatMe
    CMadatMe Member Posts: 3,086
    edited December 2009
    Piece of Advice

Welcome to the site. All the major manufactures of radiant heat products have plenty of lit on their web sites. I am one of those are totally against internet sites and homeowners installing heating systems without at the minimum working with a qualified contractor.

Internet sites give you the basic principles. They give you just enough information to purchase the products they sell. There are basic formulas for the supplies you need based on square footage and these sites are great for giving you that tool. Other than that, I feel you get smoke and mirrors.  They really have nothing more to offer. May I asked what you mean by staple up? Who would be doing the radiant heat loss and design? Who would be providing you a control strategy? How would you zone? Who would be balancing the system after it was installed? Who would you call on a cold winters night when you needed service?