Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Vertical Mains?

DTO
DTO Member Posts: 13
I'm a HO not Pro, so forgive me if this is an elementary question, but...

My one-pipe steam system has two vertical risers from the main loop in basement, each of which feeds two radiators (one on second floor and one on third floor - I think the third floor rads were added on later). There is a vent at the end of the main loop in the basement.

I am having noise issues on the third floor, and the only way I have been able to mitigate the noise is to close the radiator vents, which, of course, causes the third floor to heat more slowly (and sometimes not at all).

My question is this: Since each of the risers feeds two radiators, is it feasible (or even recommended) to put a vent at the top of the riser so that the riser will fill with steam before the rads start to fill?. I saw a post of a picture on another thread, and I was wondering if this would make it easier for me to maintain vertical (1st - 3rd floor) balance in my system.

The attachment shows what I mean. Can/should I install vents at teh marked locations before rads #2 and #4?

Comments

• noisy system

what sort of noise is this?

i would suggest putting extra venting on the dry returns in the basement, and gorton d's on the upper radiators. that way the steam will fill the mains more quickly, and will also rise up to the upper floors as quickly as it enters the lower radiators.

the noise may not be from lack of vertical venting, but more due to high pressure. what is your pressure in ounces?--nbc
  • DTO
    Vertical riser vents