Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Main steam vent leaking

I have a one pipe steam system and I just replaced the original main vent on the main header with a Gorton's#2 air eliminator. While the system was heating up the #2 was leaking a little steam and then when the system got up to about .3psi the Gorton's #2 was really spitting out steam and then a good amount of water as well. I am assuming this is not normal? When should that main vent close? The radiators upstairs were almost warm all the way through but not quite. Any thoughts?

Comments

• DavidK_2
    DavidK_2 Member Posts: 131
    I'm no expert,

But mine make a hissing noise until the steam gets to them, then they shut off. No (visible)  steam, no water, comes out of the vents.
  • leaking main vent

doublecheck your pressure with a good low pressure gauge [gaugestore.com]. make sure you mount the vent away from the elbow using an antler, or menorah [use the search button above].

these mainline vents become paperweights at 3 psi, and leak above 2 psi.--nbc 
  • Marduke
    Marduke Member Posts: 8
    main vent leaking

I have a brand new vaporstat 1-4 psi and a brand new 0-3 psi gauge teed off of the siphon loop. The vaporstat was set at 1 psi but the boiler cut out and the pressure gauge was only reading point 2 psi. Something is not working right. The Gorton's #2 is right on the elbow at the end of the main steam header. I will try raising it up on an "antler"
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,160
    Raise it