Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

6" centers

I have a basement job with 2" insulation below the pex and on the perimeter. I am using 1/2" pex. Because the wire mesh boxes are 6" square, I was going to run my 1/2" pex at 6" centers, just  for convenience of fixing. I don't see a problem with this. Could anyone give me some advise, I will of course keep my loops less than 300 ft.

Any advise would be greatly apprectiated.

Thanks.

Comments

• digger_2
    digger_2 Member Posts: 39
    6" centers

I am not an expert. However I feel I can advise on this subject. My radiant floors are also 1/2" pex and set on 6" centers. It will work  fine like that.

Having said that, I would advise keeping the individual loops short, 200' max. Head loss will become an issue with longer loops. Also be sure you are using 02 barrier tubing. 

When I installed my tubing, 6" spacing was recommended for 1/2".
  • Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,853
    You can, butt....

And there's a butt in every crowd, ain't there :-)

WHY? If it is not necessary, why do it. The only advantage would be to use extremely low temperature water (80 to 90 degrees F) to heat your basement.

Spend your time and money on conservation instead of distribution and you will see a better R.O.I.

JMPO

ME
    It's not so much a case of "You got what you paid for", as it is a matter of "You DIDN'T get what you DIDN'T pay for, and you're NOT going to get what you thought you were in the way of comfort". Borrowed from Heatboy.
  • EricAune
    EricAune Member Posts: 432
    Have to disagree