Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Question for JD

Options
I`ve seen your postings, and enjoyed reading them. You seem knowledgeable and not shy to ask questions(a great quality),,, but I`m curious,,, are you "in the trade" so to speak?, or a guy who considers himself "handy" and has a mod-con of his own but Googles up things to try and solve  whoas. (I`m not intending to be "cocky",, just curious)

;-)

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    Options
    are you "in the trade"

No, I am not in the trade. I just care a lot about the systems in my house and how they work. When I think any thing I post might be thought to have more authority than I think it deserves, I try to point out that I am not a professional.

So when I wanted to replace my 55 or so year old GE oil boiler, I wanted to know as much about the alternatives as possible. My first step was to look at Consumer Reports, but while they reported on furnaces, they were silent on boilers.

My next step was Google, and I found a lot of stuff, but most of it was rumors and bitching. I was fortunate to stumble on HeatingHelp.com and some brief items by John Siegenthaler. So I looked J.S. up on the internet and found he wrote Modern Hydronic Heating .... 2ND Edition, so I bought and read that. I also surveyed some heating contractors in my area, one did the heating system for my Quaker Meeting and did very well compared to our previous contractors, and one was my own. My own was ruled out because, in  spite of rendering good service at fair prices, did not do much with gas and nothing with mod|con boilers. The other one had installed many Weil McLain boilers, including their Ultra-2 and Ultra-3 boilers.