Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Condensing tankless heater

Hey Rich, I am also looking into the closed system navien heat box coupled with the demand heater for my house. I would really like to get a better idea of what kind of heat load you have and what kind of performance you are seeing. My plan was to use a solar preheat tank and radiant tube in the walkout basement and Myson radiators running at about 140. on the main level and upstairs. Its a relatively modest passive solar house of about 720 sqft per floor. and a heat loss of about 17,000 btu for the upper floors. Any info would be great thanks Kurt

Comments

• bob w_2
    bob w_2 Member Posts: 4
    Tankless condensing heater

I'm a newbie to this forum, but have been looking at the posts on the pros and cons of tanlkess vs tank systems.

I am building a new house, a 1800sqft bungalow. I am making it as efficient as possible. it will have raadiant heat inthe floors. The plumbers gave me options for the DHW:

A coil in a well insulated tank- Aeroso, if I recall correctly, indirectly heated by the boiler that does the floors.

A condensing tankless heater by Navien.

http://www.navienamerica.com/

With this I could downsize the boiler somewhat. Has anyone had any experience with this? Are their other brands of condensing type heaters? Am I trading one set of problems for another? Between the two types of tankless sytems, I mean.

Thanks for your help!

bob
  • kpc_16
    kpc_16 Member Posts: 20
    The choice of...

water heater should not effect your size of the boiler...unless you have A LOT of hot water needs. Don't add-in domestic hot water sizing into the heatload.I have a small oil boiler 60k w/ a SSU-60. no problems keeping up w/ 3 kids.