Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

sizing steam boiler

Brad White_9
Brad White_9 Member Posts: 2,440
In that the Burnham Independence IN3 is at 158 and the IN4 is at 271. Seems out of proportion for just one more section...

What about a V8 series with a gas burner if you can get away with that? A V86 with a 1.65 nozzle = 151 SF and the V87 at 2.10 GPH = 189 SF...

Granted the gas burner may not be allowed but the AFUE ratings (FWTAW) are over 85%.

Heck what do I know, I am just an engineer (Thanks Frankie Wrench :)

Comments

• Jim_83
    Jim_83 Member Posts: 67
    sizing steam boiler

I am replacing a steam boiler heating a 2 story house with attic. The boiler will be heating the second floor and attic. The first floor is a separate apartment and has its own steam boiler.

My question concerns the boiler sizing. From reading the posts I know it is very important to size a steam boiler based on the connected load.

The connected load is 180 square feet steam. There is a boiler rated at 158 square feet steam and the next size is 271 square feet steam. I know the rule is to pick the next size higher, but in this case, is 271 sq ft too big a boiler. Would I be better off with 158 square feet steam boiler? The boiler will be gas fired.

Some contractors have told me the smaller boiler is OK and the next size up is too big, while others tell me the larger one is the correct boiler size.

Which boiler is the correct one to use?
  • Garret_4
    Garret_4 Member Posts: 14

That's quite a jump.. what make/model is this boiler? Seems like there should be something in between....