Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Gas explosion. What happened?

Options
Bob Harper
Bob Harper Member Posts: 1,036
This is a matter for experts. Have the homeowners report it to their insurance carrier. They in turn will hire someone like Ed Carey and a licensed Cause and Origin Fire & Explosion Investigator to come out along with reps. from the boiler and possible gas controls mfrs. Let THEM do the analysis. It is driven by the cost of the repairs though.If you have only about $10K in damage, you might only get Ed or the C&O.

I would caution the choice of language. Explosion has a very negative connotation. In fire investigative terms, it represents combustion faster than the speed of sound. Most delayed ignitions are actually deflagrations. Its alot like in medicine: when I was a paramedic, I couldn't state things flatly, even when self evident but I could always quote someone else. "The homeowner claims there was a boom or explosion in the basement" as opposed to saying " the boiler blew up"-see? If you say it, you're making a diagnosis. Just report the facts and let the experts take it from there.

The main thing is no one was hurt.

As to the cause, we can sit here and speculat a whole list of failed controls, low inlet gas pressure, vent restricted, etc., etc, but it won't help.

Comments

• S Ebels
    S Ebels Member Posts: 2,322
    Options
    Gas explosion. What happened?