Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Plumbing Contractors License

Have most likely never poured and scraped a babbit bearing-
I have. That doesn't mean that I am a more qualified mechanic than they are. And it wouldn't necessarily make them a more qualified mechanic if they had. Because it's an obsolete, (almost extinct) technology. In their line of work, the ONLY reason to know that skill would be in the interest of TRADITION and NOSTALGIA. Two things that I personally APPRECIATE to a large degree but don't impose upon others as a mark of legitimacy. Kevin

Comments

• LD Edelman
    LD Edelman Member Posts: 2
    Plumbing Contractors License

I have been self employeed for 30+ years in the Heating-Cooling,Plumbing and Electrical Contracting business small town USA.I have recently decided to get a Plumbing Contractors Licenes. When I tried to apply to take the exam I was told I did not meet the requirements. I was then told since I had never worked under or for any licenesed plumbers the only way I could qualify was to take the four year apprenticeship program. This would be hard to do and continue to run my business. HELP Is there any alternate way to accomplish this that any one out there can tell me about?
  • Kevin O. Pulver
    Kevin O. Pulver Member Posts: 380
    L.D.

I approached the officials, and told them my sad story, which was similiar to yours but with lots less experience.
    I showed them photos of the installs I had done, gave them a regular resume of the training seminars, short schools, and other educational opportunities I availed myself of, and a list of the things I had done in the interest of safety such as buying a combustion analyzer. They let me take the test, and later let me take the master test.