Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Cracked Heat exchanger! where do you draw the line?

scrook_2
scrook_2 Member Posts: 610
A crack is a crack is a crack.I believe you are in the right.If you don't shut it down its your license,... your insurance,... your reputation that is on the line. Your the professional and if there is a crack you can always show/prove it.

Comments

• Dan_56
    Dan_56 Member Posts: 1
    Heat Exchangers! Where do you draw the line?

I am a heating tech with over 20 year’s experience. As a professional heating technician I have always believed that any time you have been requested to perform any task on any gas fired heating system. It is the responsibility of that technician to make certain that the system is safe in all aspects of it’s performance. A good 10 times of every season we experience the nightmare of a customer being upset with us because we shut a unit off due to a crack, fracture, rupture, opening anything you want to call it. But rest assured we are not a company that shuts any unit off for a sale, So please you will have to trust me on that. Now here is the problem. The type of crack that I am talking about is usually a small crack. I am talking about small Hairline cracks. Now we all know that the probabilities of that size of a crack will more than likely not cause a problem at that immediate time. But what it can do is become an unpredictable situation that can get worst / bigger in a matter of days, weeks or months. Now I do not blame the customer because they call in another heating contractor and 8 out of 10 time’s they just cannot find the crack and they tell the customer everything is fine. Naturally that is exactly what the customer wants to hear so then the customer goes after us. They say we were just trying to sell them a new furnace, they get our local T.V. stati