Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

no steam on second floor

Options
It depends. If the system worked fine before (if anyone knows) and this is the only changed variable, that would narrow it down.

If the sum of connected system radiation and piping, plus the hot water radiation is less than the boiler output, it is less likely.

A factor, sure, for it contributes to the demand.

Comments

• BOB CASS
    BOB CASS Member Posts: 3
    Options
    NO STEAM ON SECOND FLOOR

Hello,
    I'm a service tech for a natural gas utility co, last week I did a service call(annual inspection) for a customer with a steam boiler, one pipe system, I found the boiler to be a little old but fairly maintained. I gave it a good flush, cleaned the inside of the pig-tail, cleaned the glass and ran it. it seemed ok, while talking with the customer she advised me that her bills were very high (about $1200.00/month) and her electric bills were about $600.00 per month. After talking with her she told me her second floor had no heat in any of the radiators and she was using plug in oil filled radiators. I looked closer and found this, the house is built circa 1700's, has a one pipe system, one thermostat for the steam, and someone added an addition to the boiler with a circulator taking the water from the bottom of the boiler, none of the pipes in the basement are insulated, neither is the house, I also found that every radiator had the vents replaced on them on the second floor. She said her plumber did this. The customer actually said that she wouldnt care about paying bills that high if she could get her heat on the second floor higher than 55 dregrees... I was called out to a gas leak before I could really do anything with the boiler, but I was thinking about the job.My thoughts are this, one problem is that the water taken from the bott