Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Multiple Closely-Spaced Tees (CST's) vs Manifold off one set of CST's from Primary Loop

WrightTrack
WrightTrack Member Posts: 8
edited January 2022 in THE MAIN WALL
I'm relatively new to this, but taking a big stab...so be gentle if I'm missing some kind of "flow effect" or perhaps reinventing the wheel.

System: Multiple boiler sources (solar, wood, gas - hopefully in that order, eventually).

3 zones, 1 big, 1 small, last 1 is an indirect w/h for domestic use water.

The gas w/h shown also doubles as a buffer tank, as I plan to manifold the solar, gas and wood burning sources into it as the hub of my primary loop.

Last note: This application is located in the upper midwest in an off-grid cabin, so an alcohol mix is preferred, rather than simple tap water, for all the obvious reasons.

So the question: Which version of the secondary loop/loops is most effective?

I have seen and read many iterations of CST and non-CST arrangements, all with great rationale - so many that I can't figure out which one is most efficient. Assuming use of CFT's is the best option, it seems to have come down to 2 options:

1. One set of CST's off the primary loop, with 3 zones using in/out manifolds.
-OR-
2. Three sets of CST's directly providing h/w to the 3 zones.

Option 1 seems a little more involved, but a more even distribution of the hot fluid to the 3 zones - and seems to [require] the backflow preventers (check valves).

Options 2 seems less complicated, but it also appears that the [1st] secondary loop may 'rob' the hottest fluid, from the following secondary loops, making initial heat-up take longer. The check valves may or may not be necessary, but appear to 'force' positive forward flow into the primary loop.

Comments

• WrightTrack
    edited December 2021