Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Amana HTM Plus Water Heating System

JEM
JEM Member Posts: 7
Any Wallies here familar with these units ? It appears to be a gas furnace / water heater that has a seperate 40 gallon hot water holding tank with a thermostat on the tank it's self. 95K btu rating, 90% effiecent, direct pcv venting. Any known problems or are they any good at all ? Thanks for any help. Joe

Comments

• I remember those

I was an installer in the 80s, and we sold those units. I even had one in my own house.

The HTM (heat transfer module) was originally designed to be a cooling heat exchanger in Raytheon radar systems.

The glycol got thick with age, and the open system expansion tank would boil over and make a mess of everything within the cabinet.

I'm a little more careful now, about being on the bleeding edge of technology. Someone else can buy the brand newest designs, first.

Even though the early bird gets the worm, it's the SECOND mouse that gets the cheese.

(Steven Wright)

Noel
  • Dale
    Dale Member Posts: 1,317
    Junk