Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Best Cast Iron Boiler?

PG
PG Member Posts: 128
If I was a contractor looking to install the best cast iron boiler available, which brand would I sell? Let's assume the suppliers were all excellent and the manufactures all backed their product equally. You have no affliation or allegiances to any particular brand, supplier, Uncle in the business, etc. What would you put in your home? Your Moms and Dads home? Why? And let's use quality and best design as our main reasons. Maybe price as a tiebreaker.

Comments

• Kevin Coppinger
    Kevin Coppinger Member Posts: 29
    ok,ok,ok..

1st is it for steam or hot water?
    Hot water for the $... Buderus... Money no object...Viessman.
    STEAM.. Peerless, Burnham or Smith. kpc
  • John_21
    John_21 Member Posts: 34

Oil or gas Question After ?????? Who Sells in your area and services the unit, Very Important!John
  • Mark Eatherton1
    Mark Eatherton1 Member Posts: 2,542
    I'd agree...

The European manufacturers have been smelting cast iron LONG before us Americans have. They have a leading edge on cast iron technology. The question I have is why are cast iron boilers still being made with the advances we've seen in low mass condensing, non cast iron boilers?

One of them things that makes you go HMMmmmm...

ME

To Learn More About This Contractor, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Contractor"
  • Duncan_2
    Duncan_2 Member Posts: 174
    High temp or low temp?

Your question is like asking who makes the best gas powered car. How will you use the car? City driving? Racing? Rock crawling? What do you want, luxury, economy, power?

In my opinion, a good cast iron boiler would be a wet base like Crown makes. Even if there is some sludge that settles to the bottom, the wet side is still exposed to the fire side.