Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

circulator noise

carolyne
carolyne Member Posts: 1
someone out here has to know the answer to my question that i have been asking for 2 yrs. now new heating system was installed and a humming sound is thru out the house. Circulator was moved further back which did help but we still have a hum sound. Is there a way to transfer sound to cement floor instead of it traveling up into the house? I did place cement blocks under the heating system but it did nothing. So now i'm thinking what if i get a rubber post approx. 3 feet tall and stick it under the circulator to the cement floor. But the system does get hot, would it melt? Would this work? Can someone help me pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeze thank you

Comments

• icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Humm:

One person's Humm is another person's silence. My wife gets in the car with a bottle of Diet Pepsi and I have to tell her to tighten the cap. The fizz is leaking out. She can't hear it but I can.

I switched from a Taco 007 and if I listened really carefully, I could tell when it was running. I switched the 007 to a Wilo ECM pump. I almost have to put my hand on the pump to tell it is running. You can try a different pump. You can have rubber vibration isolators installed at either side of the pump. That cost money.

I have a battery powered wall clock. I can hear it "tick" every second. The "Tick" is louder when the second hand is going from 30 seconds to 12. It gets so quiet from 12 to 6 that I can not hear it. As soon as it goes by 6, it becomes louder. How do I know? I hear it when I am trying to fall asleep.

You're not alone. Vibration isolators are your only solution.
  • Buster
    Buster Member Posts: 36
    More info

Can you tell us the name and model of the calculator and post a pic so we can see how it is installed.