Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Never seen this before

Hello all

I am a HVAC contractor, have been in business for over 30 years and very experienced in steam and hot water heat in the Detroit area.

I am new to this forum. I looked at a house today in Detroit that was vacant for a few years, and was vandalized.

The crooks took the hot water boiler, the new owner called me out to quote a replacement. As I was checking out the house I notices there where no radiators, base board, wall convectors, or in floor tubing. in the mechanical room where the boiler once was I found 3 large openings in ceiling that extended from basement ceiling to the ceiling of the second floor. I could see the floor joist for the second floor as well,

I took a second look through the home and could not find any registers or grills assuming that it was some sort of gravity system using a hot water boiler.

The crooks took what ever type of cast iron or copper coils that might have radiated the heat, the onl thing left was the pipe work that they used to connect to.

Further investigating I found grills in basement with ceiling radiation dampers in them at the perimeter walls. I can only assume that this was some sort of gravity heat system that heated the walls and floor of the home.

Has anyone ever seen a system like this ? any help would be great.

Thanks

Comments

• Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    Details

How old is the house?

Are there tubes imbedded in the ceiling or walls?

How about vertical air ducts?
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    Scrapers

The new owner has no heating system now. I would say the scrapers took anything they could get with a sawzall.
  • Blueraypaul
    Blueraypaul Member Posts: 4