Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

how should I prepare the system for summer?

i'm new to steam, and this is my first year using it.  so is there something i should do to 'summerize' the system?  do i drain the boiler?  shut it off? change the tires?  thanks in advance for your help.

Comments

• Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    edited April 2014
    Prepare for next heating season

You don't have to do anything to prepare you system for summer. But use the warm months to repair any known leaks, check the gaskets at the top and bottom of your sight glass, clean the burners and fire box, have a pro adjust your pilot (if you have a standing pilot) and maybe do a combustion analysis/adjustment if it hasn't been done in the past few years. Take the pigtail(s) off from under your Pressuretrol/vaporstat and gauges and clean them out and re-install. Walk your basement and check the mains for any sagging pipe or anything that doesn't look right. Before the end of this heating season, check to make sure your main vents and radiator vents are working properly and replace those that need to be replaced. As we get closer to the next heating season, if you need to clean and flush out the wet returns and the boiler, do so just before you fire the boiler for the first time next season so that you can run the boiler for 15 to 30 minutes to burn off excess oxygen. If you have a standing pilot, I leave mine on during the summer to keep things nice and dry. If you have a float type LWCO, it should be cleaned and flushed out. Again check it before the end of the heating season and blow it down while the boiler is actually running. If it is working properly, it should shut your boiler down while you are holding the blow-down valve open and the boiler should start back up when you close the blow-down valve.