Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

i got to get rid of this steam heat system, i got questions

i'm totally new to oil steam radiator system, coming from california.  so i hate the oil bills.  We have decided to switch to a pellet stove for our heating source.  so i've got radiators on the second floor and first floor that i am going to take out, but two  little problems.  first, does anyone have any experience in just using the pellet stove to heat a 1400 sq. ft. 2 story house, i 'd love to hear your stories.  second, the radiators and pipes in the first floor living room have an inaccessible basement area.  the basement was sealed off with radon barriers, and i don't wish to open it up and check it out.  so can i just cut off the pipes at the floor?  

when i get this stuff out of the house, i guess i'll try to sell it.  i wonder if  there is any market for old radiators, old valve, older boiler and everything else that goes with it. 

thanks in advance for any advice or stories.

Comments

• JStar
    JStar Member Posts: 2,752
    Steam

You might as well drive the dagger right into our hearts.

Why don't you like the steam system?
  • New Hampshire DIYer
    New Hampshire DIYer Member Posts: 26
    Not sure this change is wise

Just a homeowner here, but a pellet stove is not a great candidate for your primary heating system. They require frequent loading and ash removal and the heat they generate is much more difficult to distribute around your house. What happens when you go on vacation for a week?

Your first step should be to get a comprehensive energy audit and determine what your home's heat load is. No matter what kind of heating fuel you choose, it is cheaper to insulate and seal a house than pay for fuel year after year. What is the location and age of your house?