Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New to radiant heat.... HELP

I am new to radiant heat. I recently installed a radiant heat system to heat the downstairs of my home. I am attempting to heat roughly 900 square feet of floor space with 1/2 pex tubing 8" on center between the floor joists, with heat plates. I just started the system up the night before the temps dropped to 30 below (uncharacteristic for this area) and the house did not have heat before (its a remodel I am working on). My question is how long will it take from a cold start for the floors to start warming the lower level? My 99,000 BTU boiler has been running for two days straight.....HELP!

Comments

• kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,418
    A few hours....

Did you put insulation under the floor joists.?
  • Rookie123
    Rookie123 Member Posts: 5
    Cold house

Yea, I insulated all the joist bays with R19. The house literally had no heat so it was very very cold inside when I started it up. I have the thermostat set to 60 right now and it has run the entire time and we have yet to reach 60 degrees.... not sure if this is normal for wood floors.
  • kcopp
    How long are the ....

loop lengths? How many loops? What circulator? What temperature going out?
  • Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,367
    Need a Lot More Info

First, let me say that radiant takes a long time to bring a structure up to temp even in moderate cold weather. Waiting til record cold to turn it on was, well... not the best decision you've ever made.

Now, we need some specifics:

1. What is the heat loss for the structure? Was a scientific load calc done?

2. How much tubing is in the floor? It should be around 1350' with 8" centers for 900 sq. ft.

3. How many loops?

4. What are the supply and return water temps?

5. What type of floor coverings?