Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New Construction Tankless Heating

Hello,

I am in the process of buying a new construction property. Everything about the 1780 square foot townhome is great except I'm concerned about the Rinnai tankless heater being tasked with space heating plus domestic hot water.

The space heating application is through one level of in-floor radiant heat and two levels of in-wall hydronic fan coils. It seems this application is becoming very common for new builds in the area.

My question is if there is any way to mitigate the wear and tear on the unit. I am far from an expert in this area, but I believe this is installed as an open loop system (though perhaps indirect since I see a heat exchanger has also been placed on the wall?). For what it's worth, I'm also hopeful that the newly insulated home will retain heat fairly well.

That said, can you ever add a wall mounted boiler (if space allows) to free up wear on the Rinnai? Or would it be more cost effective to ultimately plan to instal a combi unit in place of the Rinnai if / when it gives out past the 3 year warranty?

Finally, are there any resources to understand what a combi system might cost as I factor that a potential future cost of the new home?

Thank you!

Comments

• Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    Open vs Closed

First let's figure out if it is open. There are health issues that go along with that one.

Post some pictures

Carl
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • HomeBuyer
    HomeBuyer Member Posts: 3
    Pictures

Thanks for the quick reply - much appreciated. Here are a few pictures of the set up.

The picture with all four rows of the tubing was taken before the setup was fully complete, but the other two are final.