Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Quality of help on the Wall

Canecreek
Canecreek Member Posts: 21
First let me say of all the places on the net I have ever searched for help on any subject this sight is hands down the best. I have been able find or get answers to all my questions here concerning boiler technology. You guys are very generous with your knowledge and experience.

That being said it seems some of you guys get a little testy when you find out some home owner is tring to go it alone. Don't get me wrong I fully appreciate the irritation of some yahoo digging for hard learned and earned information because they are just looking for a cheap way out. I have been a building contractor for 35 years so I know all about the guy who wants me to tell him how to do his own work and is wearing me out every fifteen minutes on the phone asking questions I have answered 3 times then arguing with me about why he thinks he should do it another way. I live in a small remote southern town where heat pumps are the norm and the only boilers you see are in a 100 year old manufacturing facility and steam. When I started looking at replacing my oil fired boiler I talked to all the local plumbers who suggested everything from converting my 65% efficient boiler to gas with a Carlin and no mention of lining my flue to using on demand water heaters with a pump hooked to a thermastat with no idea of heat loss or flow requirements. Just add several together in series untill you have enough. I have been at it along time and know when I am talking to subs who are clueless. I knew I would have to get an education in order to sort out what to do. I spent hours and hours reading and learning about boiler technology and application. When I felt I had a pretty good handle on it I began actually asking question on this sight. In order to