Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Do you use a flow gauge?

As many know I'm fairly new to brazing refrigerant line and only do it as a hobby. I'm curious how many guys use a flow gauge with their nitrogen?

I just bought a Yellowjacket 69086 digital vacuum gauge so the next tool on the list is a flow gauge but I'm not sure if its really necessary. On my past project I simply set my flow by feel and luckily had all clean joints internally.

Also do you prefer nitrogen or another gas? I seem to recall some guys preferring argon over nitrogen

Look forward to all responses.
Single pipe quasi-vapor system. Typical operating pressure 0.14 - 0.43 oz. EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Control for Residential Steam boilers. Rectorseal Steamaster water treatment

Comments

• don_9
    don_9 Member Posts: 395
    Guage

The only thing I use is the regulator on the nitrogen bottle.Also flakes come more rapidly with a high torch setting.Back in the old day we used 50-50 with a propane torch.flakes were not a big issue.
  • ChrisJ
    ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,584
    edited November 2013
    Flakes and heat

I'm typically using a #5 turbo torch tip which seems to be decent for the size work I'm doing.

Sounds like a lot of guys just use the regulator on the bottle so thats probably best for me.
    Single pipe quasi-vapor system. Typical operating pressure 0.14 - 0.43 oz. EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Control for Residential Steam boilers. Rectorseal Steamaster water treatment
  • Techman
    Techman Member Posts: 2,144
    edited November 2013
    Flow control

When brazing, how much nitrogen pressure in the system will it take ,to, prevent you from making the last joint seal ? It happens w/ freons .

When using nitro, inside to tubing, there is no flaking, no oxygen, no oxidation.
  • Empire_2
    Empire_2 Member Posts: 2,343