Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help for first time homeowner with Utica service question

Hello,

First time homeowner here in NJ. I'm an energy engineer by trade and a tinkerer, and I want to see if The Wall thinks about trying to tackle an issue I just ran into with my Utica SFH3100WT oil boiler.

I ran the unit for the first time the other day since purchasing the home (~1800 sq ft Cape) in August. The burner kicked on, everything was going great, approaching steady state. I was using a Testo to take combustion readings, and it was looking pretty normal....~85% EFF, 5% O2, low CO ppm. Then, at about 4 minutes, I started to hear a surging "whoosh" sound happen every 3 seconds or so. At each "whoosh," I got a puff of combustion products out of the barometric damper (which was about 10" in front of my face...very comforting). I looked at the Testo, and the CO had spiked to 500 ppm and climbing, then the burner locked out.

I'm thinking that this was a gunked up nozzle because the unit had been sitting for about 2 months before I fired it. Does this sound reasonable? If so, is this the type of thing I DIY guy with a reasonable level of burner knowledge could potentially tackle? I've pulled the manual and I think I can clean things up....curious if anybody has any opinions about my ambition here.

Thanks for the help.

-Grant

Comments

• JStar
    JStar Member Posts: 2,752
    edited October 2013
    Boiler

Is the draft control working properly? What does the O2 go to when the soot-out happens?

Sounds like a clogged filter or nozzle. The boiler should absolutely be swept and cleaned at this point.
  • earl burnermann
    earl burnermann Member Posts: 126
    Clogged oil line