Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

DHW mixing valve recommendations

markt
markt Member Posts: 26
Have a 40 gal indirect DHW, frequently run out of hot water post-bath. Want a little more hot water. Lots of mixing valves out there, I've no experience with them. Recommendations?

Strong preference for longevity, reliability, etc. over low price.

Comments

• jonny88
    jonny88 Member Posts: 1,139
    holby

I know Holby makes a great valve.A mixing valve should add roughly 15 gallons to your tank.How much hot water are you using and what size pipe do you have going to your tank currently.
  • Rich_49
    Rich_49 Member Posts: 2,766
    Taco 5000

Series mixing valve . And store the water in tank 150 or slightly higher
    You didn't get what you didn't pay for and it will never be what you thought it would .
    Langans Plumbing & Heating LLC
    732-751-1560
    Serving most of New Jersey, Eastern Pa .
    Consultation, Design & Installation anywhere
    Rich McGrath 732-581-3833
  • SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    Symmons, Leonard, Caleffi

all good products.

Alan Forbes pointed us at this one -- clever design http://www.heatinghelp.com/forum-thread/146133/Honeywell-Mixing-Valve
  • markt
    water use and pipe

I don't really know how much hot water I use, except that filling a bathtub pretty much uses it all. That's the only time there's any issue.

I have 3/4" pipe from meter to tank, but 1/2" from tank to bathroom. I don't have great pressure, but that's a different problem...
  • markt
    Honeywell

The Honeywell looks like a quick install for a conventional water heater with inlet and outlet on top, but my indirect has cold inlet at bottom (Lochinvar Squire)
  • markt
    Caleffi differences?

What's the difference between the ~$100 Caleffi and the $500 Caleffi?