Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How to find a qualified heating contractor?

hbiss
hbiss Member Posts: 4
I'm an electrician by trade, been one for many years and know the business quite well. I know that technology over the years has changed enormously for us. At one time an electrician was qualified to handle anything thrown at him. Not so today. It would be unusual to find one electrician who is competent to to handle everything because parts of the trade have become so specialized. A guy who does residential wiring likely isn't going to know network cabling for an office building or fiber optics. Yet sadly, especially in this economy, there will be those who can't turn down a job so they will "bull head" their way through something they know little about and that leads to a less than optimum job.

My reason for saying all this is because I'm going to be looking for proposals to update my vintage 1955 oil fired Arcoliner HW boiler that has two one pipe zones of cast iron radiators to a gas fired high efficiency boiler.

My problem is that I also know that the plumbing and heating trade has gone through huge technology changes also. In the "old days" a hydronic system was not difficult to master but with today's high efficiency boilers and customers demanding the best efficiency because of fuel costs you have to know your stuff. I know plumbers who can "throw" in a boiler. I have also wired enough boilers to recognize God awful work from good work. Nearly every plumber has Plumbing and Heating after the name.

So, my question is how do you find a qualified heating contractor? Are there manufacturer and industry certifications to look for that sets them apart from plumbers doing heating work?

-Hal

Comments

• Robert O'Brien
    Robert O'Brien Member Posts: 3,540
    Here?