Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Tankless gas water heater or something like a Eternal water heater

bob eck
bob eck Member Posts: 930
I know this is a heating question forum but I am wondering if you the professional heating and plumbing contractor are installing tankless gas water heaters or do you prefer a unit like the Eternal water heater? If installing tankless gas water heaters what brand are you using and why?

Comments

• Aaron_in_Maine
    Aaron_in_Maine Member Posts: 315
    Tankless

I have not seen the eternal units yet. I have been installing Rinnai continuum water heaters for 7+ years. I have had one in my house for 3 years and love it.
    Aaron Hamilton Heating
    ahheating@ yahoo.com
    (207)229-7717
  • heatpro02920
    heatpro02920 Member Posts: 991
    Rinnai

I started installing Rinnai almost a decade ago and they are really nice units, I have them in most all my properties including my new 4 full bath 4000+sq ft home...

I have been installing the newer condensing RU80i and RU98i units and really like them thus far, the older r53 units were solid and work great and the newer RL units are even better.... Most customers go with the rl75i due to cost, the RU98i adds around $900 to the install.

I can run 4 showers and do laundry all at the same time and not run my unit down {ru98i}.

I prefer them over indirects {even when a mod con is present}, conventionals, hybrids, ect...

I tried Bosch, takagi, and a couple others before I tried the Rinnai and all of them had problems back then, the Rinnai has been a solid performing unit and a good money maker...
  • bob eck
    bob eck Member Posts: 930
    TGWH

do you experience the so called cold water sandwich? Have you had to flush it out often?
  • heatpro02920
    edited March 2013
    you have to weigh the pos and neg