Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

conversions

rick in Alaska
rick in Alaska Member Posts: 1,457
 I have been doing oil for 21 years here and now it looks like after years of people saying it is coming, it looks like we will have gas by August. It is going to be a mad scramble trying to do conversions and new gas lines along with my normal oil work, unless the people really can't afford to do the work. Time will tell.

Anyway, I have one customer right now who wants to be ready to go. He has a Bock water heater and an old whirlpool furnace. Since I don't do gas as propane is the only option at over 4 something a gallon, i do not have a lot of experience with different burners etc.

Question: customer does not want to change furnace, so new one is not an option.

The furnace is an old Whirlpool model FBL that is still in good shape. What conversion burner can we use on it and what burner for the Bock?

Also, the chimneys around here are for the most part Metalbestos stainless, but I am not sure on this one if it is masonry. Do all masonry chimneys need liners?

Rick

Comments

• heatpro02920
    heatpro02920 Member Posts: 991
    Furnace conversions are a bad idea...

Switching boilers can work out, I normally only switch when replacing oil boilers with tankless coils, and the boilers in very good shape...

With warm air furnaces you can buy an entire 90+ furnace for less than the cost of the conversion burner....

as far as hot water goes, pretty much tankless on demand or a direct tank, unless you want to go heatpump... Or boiler, indirect and hydro coil.... lots of options what is this guys budget, and what is available out there as far as equipment, if gas is just comeing Im sure supply houses havent been stocking gas equipment in great supply or variety....
  • rick in Alaska
    conversion