Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler keeps cycling on and off

Jeune
Jeune Member Posts: 6
I am very new to paying attention to my boiler, so I apologize about what I think may be a very easy question to answer. I recently replaced all of my valves with the Gorton valves and have noticed a significant diference in our heat. Set up thermostat for boiler to cycle once an hour and had our boiler cleaned (I am assuming it was cleaned correctly). My boiler is cycling way too often and cannot figure out why. Was hoping someone could help. Thanks so much!

Comments

• KSKI3718
    KSKI3718 Member Posts: 4
    Thermostat as boiler timer?

Your thermostat only asks the boiler for heat when the room temperature drops below what the thermostat is set for.  How do you set the thermostat to cycle the boiler once an hour?  Also how often is the boiler cycling,  and did you replace all the vents with the same size as was on each radiator before?
  • AlexR
    AlexR Member Posts: 61
    other important question

Is the boiler cycling when the thermostat first calls for heat (eg, before the radiators are hot), or at the end of the cycle (when the radiators are hot all the way across)?  Cycling early is often a venting problem you can correct.  Cycling late is often an oversized boiler that you can't correct.

Alex
  • Jeune
    Boiler keeps cycling on and off pt.2

Ok, this is the problem with the cycling. Whenever it shuts off for about 15 seconds the site glass empties and when it starts back up, the site glass fills up 1/4-1/2. I tried to add water manually, but that has not resolved the issue. It will run continuosly for about 7 minutes and shut down until it refills with water. This has to be a terribly inefficient use of gas. Thanks for any help you can provide. 
  • Jason Quinn
    Jason Quinn Member Posts: 96