Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Replacing sight glass easy enough for steam newb?

Volldampf
Volldampf Member Posts: 17
Good Morning,

The sight glass on my boiler is cracked and while it's still holding on, it is dripping water and has also started to spray three thin fountains of water through my basement.

I am an absolute newbie when it comes to these steam things, but this looks easy enough to replace, I am thinking close the valves on the bottom and top, looks like there the two nuts to unscrew and then the whole affair should somehow come out.

Is this easy enough? What can go wrong here? Is it OK to take the glass out and trek to the nearest plumbing supply store with all the parts so that I can be sure I buy the right replacement glass and probably some seals that go in there? Or should I better call in a pro at this point? Can the boiler be left alone without the sight glass, with those two valves closed, while I am out to get the replacement parts?

Thanks!

Matt

Comments

• Chris M_2
    Chris M_2 Member Posts: 67
    Site Glass Replacement