Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Under floor hydronic hydronic radiant heat

Kitchen remodel. We have hot water baseboard heat with a Weil McLain Gold Boiler. I want to remove the baseboard fin tubes in kitchen and utilize entire wall space for base cabinets. Our kitchen is 10 x 15. Completely gutted kitchen, spray on vapor barrier, with fiberglass insulation on all exterior walls. Ripped up subfloor to the joists, and am installing 1/2" plywood with 1/4" cement board on top. Will then be putting ceramic tile down for our new floor. What would be the BEST underfloor hydronic heating system?

I am quite new to this so if i am doing something incorrectly or if there are better suggestions to accomplish what I need, please feel free.

Thank you
k1jos

Comments

• CMadatMe
    CMadatMe Member Posts: 3,086
    Kitchens and Radiant

First, need to have a radiant heat loss and design done. Have to take away the floor space square footage of the cabinet areas and any other area where we don't put the tubing such as an island area. This will ensure that we can heat the space with the available floor square footage based on the heat loss and water temperature we need. Used Wirsbo/Uponor QuikTrak for many years with great success.

"The bitter taste of a poor installation remains much longer than the sweet taste of the lowest price."
  • Kitchen Radiant

The way I would do it:

1) Like Chris says above, do your heatloss calculations to make sure you can get enough heat from the reduced surface area of the floor although kitchens with all their heat generating appliances need less heat.

2) Instead of 1/2" plywood, use Uponor Climate Panel with your cement board and tile on top:

http://www.boucherenergy.com/pdf/JLC.pdf