Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

propane vs acetylene

Options
mtfallsmikey
mtfallsmikey Member Posts: 765
Dragging a B tank around in a tight crawl space is bad. used MAPP for awhile, but cost was a factor.

Comments

• theprentice
    theprentice Member Posts: 26
    Options
    propane vs acetylene

i'm an apprentice in the plumbing/majority heating trade, and just wanted some input on the pros and cons between an acetetylene tank and a propane tank. my employer provided me with a small one gallon propane tank and turbo torch connection. this was all i have ever used until about 2 months ago when I began using another employees acetylene turbo torch b tank. i was taught the proper size of the flame for different propane tips but now that i have began using my co-workers acetylene tank, i'm starting to become quite fond of it. problem is that my co-worker is more electrician than plumber/pipefitter. he doesn't really know what the flame should look like on an acetylene tank attachment. i'm just curious what the majority of the pros use and why. i love the versatility i have with the acetylene as far as flame control, but neither of us know the proper setting. i'm getting to the point where i am buying all my own tools and don't want to make an investment in something i am not knowledgeable about.
    also, the b tanks for acetylene seem quite large and awkward for hauling into tight spaces, the mc tank however seems quite reasonable. any pros, cons for either. how about an estimate of the money i'm going to spend on a complete setup. sorry for all the questions but i feel like this is the best place to look for a wide array of educated opinions.
    thanks again

theprentice
  • Glenn Sossin_2
    Glenn Sossin_2 Member Posts: 592
    Options
    Acetylene