Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Cleaning/Replacing Air Separator and bleeding air from lines

Options
Screen196
Screen196 Member Posts: 7
edited March 2017 in THE MAIN WALL
First and foremost, please excuse my novice questions but I figured who better to ask than the experts so here goes...I am looking to clean, replace if needed, the supervent top on my air separator and subsequently bleed the air that is in the lines. Being a new homeowner I am a novice when it comes to boilers but I do like to consider myself handy so I figured I would take on this project on myself. It all started after hearing a wave like noise in my pipes I decided to call the local heating company. The tech that came out determined that there was air in the lines. He then bled the air out, which was a significant amount, and told me that if it returns, it may be due to a clogged air separator. Unfortunately since then air has significantly returned which brings me to my questions. First I was wondering if it was possible to valve off the air separator with the setup I have so that I may inspect it and avoid draining my whole system. If so, what's the best way to do it and purge any residual water that may be in the valved off pieces of pipe. Secondly, I was unsure on how to bleed the lines being that there is no spicket on the return lines prior to the water reaching the boiler itself. The only spicket I can see using would be the one on the supply line before the air separator and circulator pump. What worries me is that I am under the impression that pumping cold water through the boiler may damage it being that all videos I've watched, the boiler has been shutoff and the air is bled through a spicket before it reaches the boiler. I have included pictures of my setup to provide a visual reference. I am open to any "how to" instructions