Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Schematic/Suggesstions Needed

JJW101
JJW101 Member Posts: 1
Hello Folks.

While I have got over 25 years experience in the Residential world, Commercial is a bit new to me ( I have worked on some over the years, but am by no means an expert). I recently stepped out of the world of self employment, taking a pretty solid job as a facilities manager with my local county government, specifically in charge of the mechanical systems, fire protection, and boilers.

Our heating plant has 2 fire tube boilers, 1 Cleaver Brooks, 1 Kewanee. It seems that there have been plenty of boiler operators over the years, and a few outside vendors as well. Each has made some changes here and there, and I am faced with needing to troubleshoot our make-up tank and fill system, which is a bit of a special case.

We have one makeup tank, with 3 pumps - 1 for each boiler, and 1 to act as a backup. I have no diagrams/schematics of any kind, and I am wondering if anyone may have a source for a diagram/schematic with a single pump, single boiler system that I can use as a starting point in solving this rats nest.( I have 2 McDonnell Miller lwco's on each boiler, 3 pressure-trols on each boiler, a float switch at each pump, and a McDonnell Miller 150 float activating the solenoid on the water inlet. I doubt anyone will have a schematic that fits this exact need, so I am hoping to get a simplified one that I can build off of during the troubleshooting process.