Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Newbie: Foreclosure with Electric Boiler/Hydronic Heat

Options
Hey guys,
My name is Travis and I'm a teacher located in northern MN where temperatures in Dec-Feb can typically dip below zero. I'm going to try to plug as much information as I can to try to get the the help I need!

Problem: Previous owners are saying they're consuming $700 and at worst case $1000 dollars a month in electricity during our miserable winters. Below you'll see my rate schedule for my area. Off-peak as mentioned later in the thread.

House: Foreclosure (eeeek right?) 2003, slab home with 2 inch insulation around the perimeter. I can't verify if there is foam insulation under the slab, but there wasn't lots of snow melt around the perimeter of the home when viewed on a -22* below day or a 32* day. Soil is loam, drainage appears good, gutters all around. 1900 sq ft, with bats & blown in fiberglass insulation in the attic (not ridiculous amounts but above rafters). No insulation on the roof deck. 2 stall/2 door Garage is ATTACHED and HEATED with the hydronic system.

Hydronic: Thermolec system is a 92,000 btu/27kw electric boiler, off-peak. Manifold is not zoned, but does have the ability to close valves manually with ball valves. 8 pairs of outflow and return lines. System does not feed house hot water and is a closed system. Below is a crappy picture so hopefully my explanation is better.