Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Introduction and first question (hydronic floors)

shelton
shelton Member Posts: 14
Hi all,

My name is Chris Shelton and I live on Camano Island, Washington, roughly an hour north of Seattle. For the past decade we’ve heated with wood exclusively. It’s nice and romantic and all but it’s also kind of a pain in the ****. We want a more conventional heat source. My wife wants heated floors. So by extension guess I want heated floors too.

But I have one big thing going against me: I like to do for myself. So that means I have to learn a bunch. And that means throwing myself to the mercy of the court (you).

At least I have a few things going for me: I’m an okay listener, I learn quickly, and I have a decent grasp of how stuff works (I’m a technical writer for the aftermarket automotive industry among other things). I’m also capable (I’ve driven across country and somewhat safely gone 100-plus mph in cars that I’ve built from scratch). I may be a fool but I’m no dummy.

I’m also a fundamentals kinda guy so that may be the best entry point. That said, I’ll end this introduction with a question: where should I start?

Thanks,

Chris
Chris Shelton
Camano Island, WA

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,170
    The best place to start is in many ways the simplest: how much heat will you need? In other words, do a room by room heat loss assessment for your house.

Once you have that, you can then see if radiant floors are feasible. They probably are, but it's best to check. Figure as a conservative value that the floor can deliver about 20 BTUh per square foot. You might be able to get more out of it, but might as well start low. Note that rugs reduce that. And wall to wall carpet is lethal...

Then one can start figuring how to install the system. But do that first.