Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

I need a starting point. Please!

Tinman
Tinman Member Posts: 2,808
I finally made a commitment to learning CAD. I bought Visio and got an entire library of hydronic stencils from a friend in the industry. I have zero experience in CAD. None. But I'm determined to learn it. I don't have the luxury of taking classes at the local college because of my current work schedule.

If someone has a resource that they've used, whether it's a book(s) or a video, could you please share that with me? Maybe a contact they can refer me to? I do ok in MS Word and Excel but this doesn't seem to be as intuitive, leaning wise. I literally don't know where to start.

Thanks.
Steve Minnich

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,022
    do you have a community college nearby?

We have a local independent Apple reseller nearby.
    They will teach a class on about any computer topic. They did a 2 hr class for Ellen and me on i-phone tips and tricks.

Craigslist may have folks that offer specific training, or a local library.

Remember, Caleffi has a lot of Visio stencils on our website, hydronic and electrical. You see them in the back of every Idronics.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
    Tinman
  • bask691979
    bask691979 Member Posts: 6
    This is kind of trickie depending on why you bought the program. If your trying to do 3D modeling and more advanced drawings you have no choice but to go to school. If your looking to just do basic object drawings without drawing the interior of an object just play around with it for an hour a night. You'll pickup in a few weeks.
  • Leon82
    Leon82 Member Posts: 684
    Check YouTube. I know there's solid works and mastercam videos there. There may even be some by the software company
  • CLamb