Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Repair or replace damaged PEX in a quik trak under floor radiant system

Options
dwa
dwa Member Posts: 2
I am installing radiant heating under a kitchen floor in a new residential house using quick trak in the kitchen.

I realised there was damage to the pex pipe just before laying the plywood layer, do you recommend removing the entire pex loop and starting the loop installation again to ensure a continuous loop of pex or is it safe to cut the short damaged section of pex out and repair the short section (couple of inches) ?

I am new to radiant heating but confident in my pex crimping abilities . When complete there will be a heat reflector, plywood and ceramic tile above the pex. Is the crimp joint likely to deteriorate over time due to it being under a floor ?

Should I repair and save time and money now or is it likely to cost me more in the long run several years later ?

Any guidance woudl be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• Rich_49
    Rich_49 Member Posts: 2,766
    Options
    dwa,
    While you may be confident in your pex crimping abilities I strongly suggest you not crimp Uponor PexA tubing . The only fitting I am aware of that is acceprable for warranty and QC purposes is Uponor A4010313 repair coupling for their 5/16" tubing . Are you certified by Uponor to install their product ? I would also suggest not using layers of other material over top of QuikTrak as you will derate the BTU output and quite possibly end up with as disaster for which there will be no one to point at other than yourself . Replace the plywood with Hardi backer maybe but not plywood , then you can do thinset on top of that . Do your research and do it right . If you'd like suggestions many here can assist .