Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

A.O. Smith water heater. Big problems. No help. (JohnNY) **Updated 3/27/15, 11:30am**

JohnNY
JohnNY Member Posts: 3,226
edited March 2015 in THE MAIN WALL
There is a restaurant on the ground floor of a large residential building on Manhattan’s Upper West Side that I’ve been servicing for about 15 years now. It’s a busy place with a small kitchen and they’ve been there for many years. Located near the Metropolitan Opera House, they’re known in part as a pre-theatre destination so they’ve got very predictable rush times.
When I first started servicing the restaurant, they were making hot water with a gas-fired 80-gallon, 75,000 BTU A.O. Smith commercial unit which we would go on to change twice as management had this place on a 3-year cycle replacing water heaters to avoid doing it on an emergency basis.

Three years ago, we started having some venting problems as restaurants often do and so I got the idea on the next replacement to install a direct vent water heater and decouple the atmospheric pressure fluctuations happening within the building’s envelope from the water heater’s exhaust system.
A.O. Smith’s Cyclone water heater took combustion (intake) air directly from outside via a sealed pipe connected to the burner and exhausted the unit via another sealed pipe through the side wall next to which the water heater was situated.

Pricey at about $5,000, the BTH-120 Cyclone unit worked great and it made everyone happy. It was a 60-gallon tank and burned 120,000 BTUs that replaced the previous 80/75 unit nicely.
Best of all the venting problems associated with the old style natural draft water heater were now gone.