Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

troublesooting lwco mcdonnell&miller pse 801-120

johnnyh13
johnnyh13 Member Posts: 31
2 year old boiler lwco worked for 1half season now senses water shuts off boiler many times blinks no water and doesn't fill,when I ground the probe wire from terminal it stays on, waters clean skimmed and no Teflon tape. must be a reason why they have a ground screw on the remote mounted probe, also probe still looks brand new, oil guy said I needed a new control but hade to call someone to verify it.my 2 questions are how can I trouble shoot electronics and how do I know if the probe or control is bad cause I know I can buy separate . been grounding lwco but im scared I am gonna forget to add water and ruin my new peerless boiler steam,any suggestions? nobody has any idea, im not a professional plumber but can fix most anything given time.

Comments

• nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    If you can ground the control, and everything works, wouldn't that indicate the problem is in the probe?
    Check the test/reset button, to make sure it is working when grounded to the boiler frame.
    That's one thing I like about the old MM float type of LWCO: you know when they work, and when they don't.
    How often is water added to the boiler? Too much fresh water can ruin your new Peerless boiler-it just takes a bit longer!--NBC
  • Abracadabra
    Abracadabra Member Posts: 1,948
    What is the feed valve you have connected to the LWCO?
  • johnnyh13
    McDonnell&miller unimatch wfe
  • johnnyh13